Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss however arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



英國保誠有限公司\*

(Incorporated and registered in England and Wales under the number 01397169)

(Stock code: 2378)

## **CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT**

The Company wishes to make clarifications with respect to its Chinese version of the Results Announcement dated 12 August 2010.

Prudential plc (the "Company") has noticed discrepancies between the Chinese and the English versions of its Press Release and Announcement of Interim Results for the Six Months Ended 30 June 2010 ("Results Announcement") dated 12 August 2010. Definitions used in this announcement are the same as those referred to in the Results Announcement unless otherwise stated.

These discrepancies are typographical errors found in the Chinese version of the Results Announcement, namely:

- profit/(loss) after tax attributable to equity holders of the Company for half year 2010 should be £442 million instead of £422 million as stated in the Chinese version of the Results Announcement under the section headed Results Summary; and
- costs / amortised costs of total assets as of 30 June 2010 should be £39,921 million instead of £39,321 million as stated in the Chinese version of the Results Announcement under Note T – Valuation bases for Group assets under the section headed International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) Basis Results.

By order of the Board of Prudential plc Margaret Ann Coltman Company Secretary

12 August 2010, Hong Kong

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises:

**Executive Directors** 

Cheick Tidjane Thiam (Group Chief Executive)
Nicolaos Andreas Nicandrou ACA
Robert Alan Devey
Clark Preston Manning Jr. FSA MAAA
Michael George Alexander McLintock
Barry Lee Stowe

Independent Non-executive Directors

Harvey Andrew McGrath (Chairman)
Keki Bomi Dadiseth FCA
Michael William Oliver Garrett
Ann Frances Godbehere FCGA
Bridget Ann Macaskill
Kathleen Anne O'Donovan ACA
James Hood Ross
Lord Andrew Turnbull KCB CVO

<sup>\*</sup> For identification purpose