Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss however arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated and registered in England and Wales under the number 01397169) (Stock code: 2378)

## APPOINTMENT OF COMPLIANCE ADVISER

The Board of directors (the "**Board**") of Prudential plc (the "**Company**") announces that Somerley Limited ("**Somerley**") has been appointed as the new compliance adviser to the Company as required pursuant to Rule 3A.19 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Listing Rules**") with effect from 22 November 2010 and until the date on which the Company complies with Rule 13.46 of the Listing Rules in respect of its financial results for the year ending 31 December 2011. Somerley is a corporation licensed to carry out Type 1 (dealing in securities), Type 4 (advising on securities), Type 6 (advising on corporate finance) and Type 9 (asset management) regulated activities under the Securities and Futures Ordinance, Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, the Board confirms that there are no other material matters that need to be drawn to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in respect of the appointment of compliance adviser of the Company.

## Additional information:

Prudential plc is not affiliated in any manner with Prudential Financial, Inc, a company whose principal place of business is in the United States of America.

By order of the Board Prudential plc Margaret Ann Coltman Company Secretary

22 November 2010, Hong Kong

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Prudential plc comprises:

Executive Directors Cheick Tidjane Thiam (Group Chief Executive) Nicolaos Andreas Nicandrou ACA Robert Alan Devey Clark Preston Manning Jr. FSA MAAA Michael George Alexander McLintock Barry Lee Stowe Independent Non-executive Directors Harvey Andrew McGrath (Chairman) Keki Bomi Dadiseth FCA Howard John Davies Michael William Oliver Garrett Ann Frances Godbehere FCGA Bridget Ann Macaskill Paul Victor Falzon Sant Manduca Kathleen Anne O'Donovan ACA James Hood Ross Lord Andrew Turnbull KCB CVO

\* For identification purpose