Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss however arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated and registered in England and Wales under the number 01397169) (Stock code: 2378)

GRANT OF SHARE OPTIONS

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 17.06A of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rule").

The Company announces that on 16 September 2011, options were granted over a total of 2,057,573 shares (the "Options") to certain eligible directors, employees and agents of the Company (collectively, the "Grantees"), under the Company's Savings Related Share Option Schemes. A summary is set out below:

Date of grant : 16 September 2011

Exercise price of Options granted : GBP 4.658666 per share

Closing price of a Prudential GBP0.05 : GBP 6.055

Ordinary Share on the date of grant

Validity periods of the Options Three (3) years, exercisable from 1 December 2014 to 29 May

2015

Five (5) years, exercisable from 1 December 2016 to 31 May

The total Options granted, included options granted to the directors and chief executive as follows:

Name of Grantee	Number of shares
Cheick Tidjane Thiam (Group Chief Executive)	965
Nicolaos Andreas Nicandrou (Executive Director)	3,268
Robert Alan Devey (Executive Director)	3,268

The grant of Options to the executive directors of the Company has been approved by the independent nonexecutive directors of the Company in accordance with the Listing Rules. Save as disclosed in this announcement, none of the Grantees of the Options is a director, chief executive or substantial shareholder of the Company, nor an associate (as defined in the Listing Rules) of any of them.

Name of contact and telephone numbers for enquiries:

Group Secretariat

Jennie Webb +44 20 7548 2027 Clive Burns +44 20 7548 3805

Note:

Prudential plc is not affiliated in any manner with Prudential Financial, Inc, a company whose principal place of business is in the United States of America.

By order of the Board Prudential plc Margaret Ann Coltman Company Secretary

20 September 2011, London

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Prudential plc comprises:

Chairman Harvey Andrew McGrath

Executive Directors

Cheick Tidjane Thiam (*Group Chief Executive*), Nicolaos Andreas Nicandrou ACA, Robert Alan Devey, John William Foley, Michael George Alexander McLintock, Barry Lee Stowe and Michael Andrew Wells

Independent Non-executive Directors

Keki Bomi Dadiseth FCA, Sir Howard John Davies, Michael William Oliver Garrett, Ann Frances Godbehere FCGA, Bridget Ann Macaskill, Paul Victor Falzon Sant Manduca, Kathleen Anne O'Donovan ACA and Lord Andrew Turnbull KCB CVO

^{*} For identification purposes