Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss however arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



英國保誠有限公司*

(Incorporated and registered in England and Wales under the number 01397169)
(Stock code: 2378)

OVERSEAS REGULATORY ANNOUNCEMENT

TOTAL VOTING RIGHTS AND ISSUED SHARE CAPITAL

In accordance with the provisions of the Disclosure and Transparency Rules issued by the Financial Services Authority, Prudential notifies the market of the following:

As at 31 December 2011, Prudential's issued share capital consisted of 2,548,039,330 ordinary shares of 5p each and which are admitted to trading. Each ordinary share carries the right to one vote in all circumstances at general meetings of Prudential. Prudential does not hold any Treasury Shares.

The total number of voting rights in Prudential is therefore 2,548,039,330 and this figure may be used by shareholders (and others with notification obligations) as the denominator for the calculations by which they will determine whether they are required to notify their interest in, or a change to their interest in, Prudential under the Disclosure and Transparency Rules.

Additional information:

Prudential plc is not affiliated in any manner with Prudential Financial, Inc, a company whose principal place of business is in the United States of America.

Enquiries:

Prudential plc

Angela Zeng, Group Secretariat

Tel: +44 20 7548 3943

Name and signature of duly authorised officer of issuer responsible for making notification:

Clive Burns, Head of Secretariat

3 January 2012, London

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Prudential plc comprises:

Chairman

Harvey Andrew McGrath

Executive Directors

Cheick Tidjane Thiam (Group Chief Executive), Nicolaos Andreas Nicandrou ACA, Robert Alan Devey, John William Foley, Michael George Alexander McLintock, Barry Lee Stowe and Michael Andrew Wells

Independent Non-executive Directors

Keki Bomi Dadiseth FCA, Sir Howard John Davies, Michael William Oliver Garrett, Ann Frances Godbehere FCGA, Alexander Dewar Kerr Johnston CMG, Paul Victor Falzon Sant Manduca, Kaikhushru Shiavax Nargolwala, Kathleen Anne O'Donovan ACA and Lord Andrew Turnbull KCB CVO

^{*} For identification purposes