Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss however arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated and registered in England and Wales under the number 01397169)
(Stock code: 2378)

GRANT OF SHARE OPTIONS

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 17.06A of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rule").

The Company announces that on 21 September 2012, options were granted over a total of 2,414,902 shares (the "**Options**") to certain eligible employees and agents of the Company, under the Company's Savings Related Share Option Schemes. A summary is set out below:

Date of grant : 21 September 2012

Exercise price of Options granted : GBP 6.286667 per share

Closing price of a Prudential GBP0.05 :

Ordinary Share on the date of grant

Validity periods of the Options : Three (3) years, exercisable from 1 December 2015 to 31 May 2016

GBP 8.26

Five (5) years, exercisable from 1 December 2017 to 31 May 2018

No Options were granted to the directors, chief executive or substantial shareholder of the Company, nor any of their associates (as defined in the Listing Rules).

Name of contact and telephone numbers for enquiries:

Group Secretariat

Emma Jacobs +44 20 7548 3931 Sandra Odell +44 20 7548 2115

Note:

Prudential plc is not affiliated in any manner with Prudential Financial, Inc, a company whose principal place of business is in the United States of America.

By order of the Board Prudential plc Alan Fraser Porter Company Secretary

24 September 2012, London

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Prudential plc comprises:

Chairman

Paul Victor Falzon Sant Manduca

Executive Directors

Cheick Tidjane Thiam (*Group Chief Executive*), Nicolaos Andreas Nicandrou ACA, Robert Alan Devey, John William Foley, Michael George Alexander McLintock, Barry Lee Stowe and Michael Andrew Wells

Independent Non-executive Directors

Keki Bomi Dadiseth FCA, Sir Howard John Davies, Michael William Oliver Garrett, Ann Frances Godbehere FCGA, Alexander Dewar Kerr Johnston CMG FCA, Kaikhushru Shiavax Nargolwala FCA and Lord Andrew Turnbull KCB CVO

^{*} For identification purposes