Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss however arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated and registered in England and Wales under the number 01397169) (Stock code: 2378)

(Stock Coue, 2576)

# RESULTS OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 14 MAY 2015

Prudential plc (the "**Company**") announces that at its Annual General Meeting ("**AGM**") held earlier today, Resolutions 1 to 23, as ordinary resolutions, and Resolutions 24 to 26, as special resolutions, were duly passed and the results of the polls are as follows:

	RESOLUTION	VOTES FOR	% OF VOTES CAST	VOTES AGAINST	% OF VOTES CAST	VOTES CAST IN TOTAL	TOTAL VOTES CAST AS A % OF ISSUED SHARE CAPITAL	VOTES WITHHELD
1	To receive and consider the Accounts, Strategic Report, Directors' Remuneration Report, Directors' Report and the Auditors' Report (the Annual Report)	1,944,426,649	99.93	1,439,317	0.07	1,945,865,966	75.69%	2,670,561
2	To approve the Directors' Remuneration Report (other than the part containing the summary of the Directors' Remuneration Policy)	1,711,107,495	93.81	112,901,645	6.19	1,824,009,140	70.95%	124,526,722
3	To declare a final dividend of 25.74 pence per ordinary share of the Company	1,944,335,707	100.00	18,163	0.00	1,944,353,870	75.63%	4,188,666
4	To re-elect Mr Pierre-Olivier Bouée as a director	1,915,294,123	98.42	30,779,586	1.58	1,946,073,709	75.69%	2,462,095
5	To re-elect Sir Howard Davies as a director	1,930,816,501	99.22	15,274,481	0.78	1,946,090,982	75.69%	2,444,823
6	To re-elect Ms Ann Godbehere as a director	1,924,709,718	98.91	21,290,799	1.09	1,946,000,517	75.69%	2,535,288
7	To re-elect Ms Jacqueline Hunt as a director	1,915,454,570	98.43	30,612,205	1.57	1,946,066,775	75.69%	2,469,089

8	To re-elect Mr Alexander Johnston as a director	1,922,235,967	98.78	23,813,044	1.22	1,946,049,011	75.69%	2,486,654
9	To re-elect Mr Paul Manduca as a director	1,927,581,073	99.05	18,479,193	0.95	1,946,060,266	75.69%	2,475,399
10	To re-elect Mr Michael McLintock as a director	1,914,808,937	98.39	31,242,501	1.61	1,946,051,438	75.69%	2,484,226
11	To re-elect Mr Kaikhushru Nargolwala as a director	1,880,169,451	99.49	9,658,771	0.51	1,889,828,222	73.51%	58,707,443
12	To re-elect Mr Nicolaos Nicandrou as a director	1,924,185,274	98.88	21,867,369	1.12	1,946,052,643	75.69%	2,483,022
13	To re-elect Mr Anthony Nightingale as a director	1,818,899,035	96.26	70,628,440	3.74	1,889,527,475	73.49%	59,008,190
14	To re-elect Mr Philip Remnant as a director	1,875,620,119	99.25	14,128,465	0.75	1,889,748,584	73.50%	58,787,081
15	To re-elect Ms Alice Schroeder as a director	1,932,088,846	99.28	13,977,668	0.72	1,946,066,514	75.69%	2,469,151
16	To re-elect Mr Barry Stowe as a director	1,915,278,846	98.42	30,788,621	1.58	1,946,067,467	75.69%	2,468,197
17	To re-elect Mr Tidjane Thiam as a director	1,926,179,203	98.98	19,765,830	1.02	1,945,945,033	75.69%	2,590,632
18	To re-elect Mr Michael Wells as a director	1,916,609,884	98.49	29,437,635	1.51	1,946,047,519	75.69%	2,488,145
19	To re-appoint KPMG LLP as the Company's auditor	1,874,293,374	96.46	68,849,499	3.54	1,943,142,873	75.58%	5,385,912
20	To authorise the directors to determine the amount of the auditor's remuneration	1,910,107,224	98.24	34,278,223	1.76	1,944,385,447	75.63%	4,143,338
21	To renew the authority to make political donations	1,927,326,226	99.05	18,543,809	0.95	1,945,870,035	75.69%	2,658,750
22	To renew the authority to allot ordinary shares	1,904,175,976	97.85	41,853,513	2.15	1,946,029,489	75.69%	2,499,293
23	To renew the extension of authority to allot ordinary shares to include repurchased shares	1,928,328,915	99.09	17,677,019	0.91	1,946,005,934	75.69%	2,522,848
24	To renew the authority for disapplication of pre-emption rights	1,934,546,194	99.41	11,463,701	0.59	1,946,009,895	75.69%	2,518,659
25	To renew the authority for purchase of own shares	1,940,786,798	99.73	5,268,596	0.27	1,946,055,394	75.69%	2,473,388
26	To renew the authority in respect of notice for general meetings	1,749,582,701	89.92	196,169,629	10.08	1,945,752,330	75.68%	2,776,451

Lord Turnbull did not stand for re-election as a Director, and has stepped down from the Board with effect from the conclusion of the AGM.

As at 6.00pm on 12 May 2015, the number of issued shares of the Company was 2,570,985,969 ordinary shares, which was the total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote for or against all the resolutions at the AGM. In accordance with the Company's Articles of Association, on a poll every member present in person or by proxy has one vote for every share held.

There were no restrictions on shareholders to cast votes on any of the resolutions proposed at the AGM. Votes withheld are not votes in law and therefore have not been counted in the calculation of the proportion of the votes for and against a resolution. Equiniti Limited was appointed as the scrutineer for vote-taking at

## the AGM.

Copies of all resolutions, other than those concerning ordinary business, passed at the AGM on 14 May 2015 have, pursuant to Listing Rule 9.6.2 of the UK Listing Rules, been submitted to the National Storage Mechanism and will shortly be available to view at <u>www.hemscott.com/nsm.do</u>

#### Additional Information:

Prudential plc is not affiliated in any manner with Prudential Financial, Inc, a company whose principal place of business is in the United States of America.

### **Contact:**

Stefan Bort, Deputy Group Secretary +44 20 7548 2115 Alan F. Porter, Group Company Secretary

> By order of the Board **Prudential plc Alan F. Porter** *Group Company Secretary*

14 May 2015, London

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Prudential plc comprises:

Chairman Paul Victor Falzon Sant Manduca

Executive Directors

Cheick Tidjane Thiam (*Group Chief Executive*), Nicolaos Andreas Nicandrou ACA, Pierre-Olivier Marie Georges Bouée, Jacqueline Hunt, Michael George Alexander McLintock, Barry Lee Stowe and Michael Andrew Wells

#### Independent Non-executive Directors

Sir Howard John Davies, Ann Frances Godbehere FCPA FCGA, Alexander Dewar Kerr Johnston CMG FCA, Kaikhushru Shiavax Nargolwala FCA, Anthony John Liddell Nightingale CMG SBS JP, The Hon. Philip John Remnant CBE ACA and Alice Davey Schroeder

\* For identification purposes