Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss however arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated and registered in England and Wales under the number 01397169) (Stock code: 2378)

# RESULTS OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 19 MAY 2016

Prudential plc (the "**Company**") announces that at its Annual General Meeting ("**AGM**") held earlier today, Resolutions 1 to 23, as ordinary resolutions, and Resolutions 24 to 26, as special resolutions, were duly passed and the results of the polls are as follows:

	RESOLUTION	VOTES FOR	% OF VOTES CAST	VOTES AGAINST	% OF VOTES CAST	VOTES CAST IN TOTAL	TOTAL VOTES CAST AS A % OF ISSUED SHARE CAPITAL	VOTES WITHHELD
1	To receive and consider the Accounts, Strategic Report, Directors' Remuneration Report, Directors' Report and the Auditors' Report	1,968,656,672	98.58	28,282,371	1.42	1,996,939,043	77.62%	9,482,367
2	To approve the Directors' Remuneration Report (other than the part containing the summary of the Directors' Remuneration Policy)	1,714,488,665	92.80	132,967,991	7.20	1,847,456,656	71.81%	159,010,106
3	To elect Mr John Foley as a Director	1,979,970,209	98.71	25,842,880	1.29	2,005,813,089	77.96%	653,675
4	To elect Ms Penelope James as a Director	1,980,179,819	98.72	25,629,553	1.28	2,005,809,372	77.96%	651,995
5	To elect Mr David Law as a Director	1,998,146,388	99.60	7,955,664	0.40	2,006,102,052	77.97%	359,315
6	To elect Lord Turner as a Director	1,998,246,726	99.61	7,851,799	0.39	2,006,098,525	77.97%	362,842
7	To elect Mr Tony Wilkey as a Director	1,979,929,664	98.71	25,863,393	1.29	2,005,793,057	77.96%	668,310
8	To re-elect Sir Howard Davies as a Director	1,997,260,487	99.56	8,857,407	0.44	2,006,117,894	77.97%	343,473

9	To re-elect Ms Ann Godbehere as a Director	1,971,911,158	98.79	24,212,559	1.21	1,996,123,717	77.58%	9,527,650
10	To re-elect Mr Paul Manduca as a Director	1,955,957,434	97.90	41,944,468	2.10	1,997,901,902	77.65%	8,559,464
11	To re-elect Mr Michael McLintock as a Director	1,979,644,087	98.70	26,153,710	1.30	2,005,797,797	77.96%	663,570
12	To re-elect Mr Kaikhushru Nargolwala as a Director	1,936,657,183	99.55	8,762,097	0.45	1,945,419,280	75.61%	61,042,087
13	To re-elect Mr Nicolaos Nicandrou as a Director	1,981,083,679	98.77	24,700,352	1.23	2,005,784,031	77.96%	677,336
14	To re-elect Mr Anthony Nightingale as a Director	1,800,277,479	93.50	125,098,186	6.50	1,925,375,665	74.83%	81,085,702
15	To re-elect Mr Philip Remnant as a Director	1,936,516,100	99.54	8,897,568	0.46	1,945,413,668	75.61%	61,047,699
16	To re-elect Ms Alice Schroeder as a Director	1,996,101,423	99.50	10,015,628	0.50	2,006,117,051	77.97%	344,256
17	To re-elect Mr Barry Stowe as a Director	1,979,700,582	98.70	26,100,442	1.30	2,005,801,024	77.96%	660,283
18	To re-elect Mr Michael Wells as a Director	1,985,466,573	98.97	20,641,161	1.03	2,006,107,734	77.97%	352,553
19	To re-appoint KPMG LLP as the Company's auditor	1,903,814,834	95.02	99,858,940	4.98	2,003,673,774	77.88%	2,786,112
20	To authorise the Audit Committee to determine the amount of the auditor's remuneration	1,948,554,605	97.22	55,737,881	2.78	2,004,292,486	77.90%	2,167,400
21	To renew the authority to make political donations	1,968,668,651	98.73	25,322,699	1.27	1,993,991,350	77.50%	12,468,537
22	To renew the authority to allot ordinary shares	1,964,429,179	97.94	41,355,241	2.06	2,005,784,420	77.96%	375,467
23	To renew the extension of authority to allot ordinary shares to include repurchased shares	1,996,839,469	99.54	9,242,807	0.46	2,006,082,276	77.97%	377,611
24	To renew the authority for disapplication of pre-emption rights	1,990,696,013	99.23	15,379,168	0.77	2,006,075,181	77.97%	384,706
25	To renew the authority for purchase of own shares	1,979,279,532	98.66	26,837,971	1.34	2,006,117,503	77.97%	342,383
26	To renew the authority in respect of notice for general meetings	1,803,673,906	90.45	190,486,196	9.55	1,994,160,102	77.51%	11,999,785

Alistair Johnston did not stand for re-election as a Director, and has retired from the Board with effect from the conclusion of the AGM.

As at 6.00pm on 17 May 2016, the number of issued shares of the Company was 2,572,845,622 ordinary shares, which was the total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote for or against all the resolutions at the AGM. In accordance with the Company's Articles of Association, on a poll every member present in person or by proxy has one vote for every share held.

There were no restrictions on shareholders to cast votes on any of the resolutions proposed at the AGM. Votes withheld are not votes in law and therefore have not been counted in the calculation of the proportion of the votes for and against a resolution. Equiniti Limited was appointed as the scrutineer for vote-taking at the AGM.

Copies of all resolutions, other than those concerning ordinary business, passed at the AGM on 19 May 2016 have, pursuant to Listing Rule 9.6.2 of the UK Listing Rules, been submitted to the National Storage Mechanism and will shortly be available to view at <u>www.hemscott.com/nsm.do</u>

## Additional Information:

Prudential plc is not affiliated in any manner with Prudential Financial, Inc, a company whose principal place of business is in the United States of America.

### **Contact:**

Stefan Bort, Deputy Group Secretary +44 (0)20 7548 2115 Alan F. Porter, Group General Counsel and Company Secretary

> By order of the Board **Prudential plc Alan F. Porter** *Group General Counsel and Company Secretary*

19 May 2016, London

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Prudential plc comprises:

Chairman Paul Victor Falzon Sant Manduca

#### Executive Directors

Michael Andrew Wells (*Group Chief Executive*), Nicolaos Andreas Nicandrou ACA, Penelope Jane James ACA, John William Foley, Michael George Alexander McLintock, Barry Lee Stowe and Tony Paul Wilkey

Non-executive Director David John Alexander Law ACA

#### Independent Non-executive Directors

Sir Howard John Davies, Ann Frances Godbehere FCPA FCGA, Kaikhushru Shiavax Nargolwala FCA, Anthony John Liddell Nightingale CMG SBS JP, The Hon. Philip John Remnant CBE ACA, Alice Davey Schroeder and Lord Jonathan Adair Turner

\* For identification purposes